Schedule

Monday

July 26
Introduction to Executive Control and the Supervisory System of the Brain

12:00 PM – 12:55 PM ET /
9:00 AM – 9:55 AM PT


  • Orientation and mindset for working with students who exhibit executive control difficulties
  • Overview of the supervisory system of the brain

12:55 PM – 1:05 PM ET /
 9:55 AM – 10:05 AM PT

Break

1:05 PM – 1:55 PM ET /
10:05 AM – 10:55 AM PT


  • Orientation and mindset for working with students who exhibit executive control difficulties
  • Overview of the supervisory system of the brain

1:55 PM – 2:20 PM ET /
10:55 AM – 11:20 AM PT

Break

2:20 PM – 3:15 PM ET /
11:20 AM – 12:15 PM PT


  • Question and answer session
  • Beyond self-regulatory executive control: the roles of upper management in the brain

3:15 PM – 3:25 PM ET /
12:15 PM – 12:25 PM PT

Break

3:25 PM – 4:15 PM ET /
12:25 PM – 1:15 PM PT


  • Question and answer session
  • Automaticity: The roles of workers in the brain and the unsupervised brain
  • Reflection activity

This schedule is preliminary and subject to change. Please check here for updates.

Tuesday

July 27
Day-to-day Functioning of the Supervisory System and the Continuum for Strengthening Executive Control

12:00 PM – 12:55 PM ET /
9:00 AM – 9:55 AM PT


  • The difference between learning and producing: who's in charge here?
  • Waking up the brain: What happens when the workers show-up before the supervisors?

12:55 PM – 1:05 PM ET /
 9:55 AM – 10:05 AM PT

Break

1:05 PM – 1:55 PM ET /
10:05 AM – 10:55 AM PT


  • Question and answer session
  • Intelligence and executive control: What's the difference and how are they involved in learning?

1:55 PM – 2:20 PM ET /
10:55 AM – 11:20 AM PT

Break

2:20 PM – 3:15 PM ET /
11:20 AM – 12:15 PM PT


  • Sizing up the learning situation: How are the supervisors and the workers involved in learning and demonstrating what has been learned?
  • Reflection activity

3:15 PM – 3:25 PM ET /
12:15 PM – 12:25 PM PT

Break

3:25 PM – 4:15 PM ET /
12:25 PM – 1:15 PM PT


  • Question and answer session
  • The continuum for strengthening executive control

This schedule is preliminary and subject to change. Please check here for updates.

Wednesday

July 28
Applying the Continuum for Strengthening Executive Control in the Classroom, Part 1

12:00 PM – 12:55 PM ET /
9:00 AM – 9:55 AM PT


  • Orienting Strategies: Setting the agenda for the supervisors and the workers, Part 1

12:55 PM – 1:05 PM ET /
 9:55 AM – 10:05 AM PT

Break

1:05 PM – 1:55 PM ET /
10:05 AM – 10:55 AM PT


  • Question and answer session
  • Orienting strategies: Setting the agenda for the supervisors and the workers, Part 2
  • Reflection activity

1:55 PM – 2:20 PM ET /
10:55 AM – 11:20 AM PT

Break

2:20 PM – 3:15 PM ET /
11:20 AM – 12:15 PM PT


  • External control strategies: Directly educating the first-line "how" managers, Part 1

3:15 PM – 3:25 PM ET /
12:15 PM – 12:25 PM PT

Break

3:25 PM – 4:15 PM ET /
12:25 PM – 1:15 PM PT


  • Question and answer session
  • External control strategies: Directly educating the first-line "how" managers, Part 2
  • Reflection activity

This schedule is preliminary and subject to change. Please check here for updates.

Thursday

July 29
Applying the Continuum for Strengthening Executive Control in the Classroom, Part 2

12:00 PM – 12:55 PM ET /
9:00 AM – 9:55 AM PT


  • Bridging Strategies: Transitioning from external control to internal control, Part 1

12:55 PM – 1:05 PM ET /
9:55 AM – 10:05 AM PT

Break

1:05 PM – 1:55 PM ET /
10:05 AM – 10:55 AM PT


  • Question and answer session
  • Bridging strategies: Transitioning from external control to internal control, Part 2
  • Reflection activity

1:55 PM – 2:20 PM ET /
10:55 AM – 11:20 AM PT

Break

2:20 PM – 3:15 PM ET /
11:20 AM – 12:15 PM PT


  • Bridging strategies: Transitioning from external control to internal control, Part 3

3:15 PM – 3:25 PM ET /
12:15 PM – 12:25 PM PT

Break

3:25 PM – 4:15 PM ET /
12:45 PM – 1:15 PM PT


  • Question and answer session
  • Bridging strategies: Transitioning from external control to internal control, Part 4
  • Reflection activity

This schedule is preliminary and subject to change. Please check here for updates.

Friday

July 30
Applying the Continuum for Strengthening Executive Control in the Classroom, Part 3 and More

12:00 PM – 12:55 PM ET /
9:00 AM – 9:55 AM PT


  • Internal control strategies: Increasing the efficiency of self-regulated brains

12:55 PM – 1:05 PM ET /
 9:55 AM – 10:05 AM PT

Break

1:05 PM – 1:55 PM ET /
10:05 AM – 10:55 AM PT


  • Question and answer session
  • Development of executive control and implications for classroom teaching
  • Reflection activity

1:55 PM – 2:20 PM ET /
10:55 AM – 11:20 AM PT

Break

2:20 PM – 3:15 PM ET /
11:20 AM – 12:15 PM PT


  • Executive control difficulties and clinical diagnoses

3:15 PM – 3:25 PM ET /
12:15 PM – 12:25 PM PT

Break

3:25 PM – 4:15 PM ET /
12:25 PM – 1:15 PM PT


  • Question and answer session
  • Concluding remarks on the role of executive control in learning and strengthening executive control inside and outside the classroom

This schedule is preliminary and subject to change. Please check here for updates.