conference schedule

Conference Day 1

Saturday, April 17
Location: Virtual Conference

9:00-10:00 AM (EDT--Eastern Daylight Saving Time) / 6:00-7:00 AM (PDT--Pacific Daylight Saving Time)

10:00-10:10 AM (EDT) / 7:00-7:10 AM (PDT)

10 minute Break

10:10-11:10 AM (EDT) / 7:10-8:10 AM (PDT)

Keynote: The Science and Power of Meaning - Emily Esfahani Smith, MA

11:10-11:30 AM (EDT) / 8:10-8:30 AM (PDT)

20 minute Virtual Coffee Break/Meet-Ups

Concurrent Sessions A

11:30 AM-12:30 PM (EDT) / 8:30-9:30 AM (PDT)

Concurrent Sessions A

1) Purposeful Schools for a Changing World

Room: TBA

11:30 AM-12:30 PM (EDT) / 8:30-9:30 AM (PDT)
Thrive: Reinventing the Purpose of Schools for a Changing World
Valerie Hannon, MEd
(K-College)

2) Thriving and Connected Brains

Room: TBA

11:30 AM-12:30 PM (EDT) / 8:30-9:30 AM (PDT)
Building Resilience, Connections, and Psychological Thriving in Times of Chaos and Uncertainty
Emma Seppälä, PhD
(All Ages)

3) Curious Brains & Learning

Room: TBA

11:30 AM-12:30 PM (EDT) / 8:30-9:30 AM (PDT)
The Neuroscience of Curiosity: How Curiosity Affects Learning in Children and Adolescents
Matthias J. Gruber, PhD
(K-12)

4) Social Connections & School Belonging

Room: TBA

11:30 AM-12:30 PM (EDT) / 8:30-9:30 AM (PDT)
We Are Crew: Creating Schools of Belonging and Teamwork
Ron Berger, MEd
(K-12)

5) Self-Stories & Achievement

Room: TBA

11:30 AM-12:30 PM (EDT) / 8:30-9:30 AM (PDT)
Redirect: Strengthening Students by Editing Their Self-Stories
Timothy D. Wilson, PhD
(All Ages)

6) Literacy & Student Agency

Room: TBA

11:30 AM-12:30 PM (EDT) / 8:30-9:30 AM (PDT)
Strengthening Overall Literacy Achievement by Focusing on Self-Efficacy, Agency, Relevance, and Authenticity
Leslie E. Laud, EdD
(PreK-8)

12:30-1:00 PM (EDT) / 9:30-10:00 AM (PDT)

30 minute Break (Meet Exhibitors/Teacher Chats)

Afternoon Concurrent Keynotes: The Science of Ourselves and Curiosity

1:00-2:00 PM (EDT) / 10:00-11:00 AM (PDT)

Afternoon Concurrent Keynotes: The Science of Ourselves and Curiosity

1) Keynote Option 1

Room: TBA

1:00-2:00 PM (EDT) / 10:00-11:00 AM (PDT)
The Deep History of Ourselves
Joseph E. LeDoux, PhD

2) Keynote Option 2

Room: TBA

1:00-2:00 PM (EDT) / 10:00-11:00 AM (PDT)
Detailing Pathways for Maximal Student Wellbeing, Resilience, and Learning
Todd B. Kashdan, PhD

2:00-2:10 PM (EDT) / 11:00-11:10 AM (PDT)

10 minute Break

Concurrent Sessions B

2:10-3:10 PM (EDT) / 11:10 AM-12:10 PM (PDT)

Concurrent Sessions B

1) The Science of Purpose

Room: TBA

2:10-3:10 PM (EDT) / 11:10 AM-12:10 PM (PDT)
Helping Children and Teens Discover Their Purpose in Life and Thrive
Kendall Cotton Bronk, PhD
(6-College)

2) Resilient Brains

Room: TBA

2:10-3:10 PM (EDT) / 11:10 AM-12:10 PM (PDT)
A Neuroscience Approach to Improving Student Resiliency in Uncertain Times
Horacio Sanchez, MEd
(K-12)

3) Curious Brains & Learning

Room: TBA

2:10-3:10 PM (EDT) / 11:10 AM-12:10 PM (PDT)
Creating Curious Classrooms
Kathleen M. Kryza, MA
(K-College)

4) Social Connections & Collaboration

Room: TBA

2:10-3:10 PM (EDT) / 11:10 AM-12:10 PM (PDT)
Purposeful, Meaningful Collaboration: Teaching Students How to Work Together
Trevor Muir, MA
(K-College)

5) Self-Stories & Resilience

Room: TBA

2:10-3:10 PM (EDT) / 11:10 AM-12:10 PM (PDT)
The First Step to Resilience: Don't Make Things Harder on Yourself
Mark R. Leary, PhD
(All Ages)

6) Math & Thriving

Room: TBA

2:10-3:10 PM (EDT) / 11:10 AM-12:10 PM (PDT)
Teaching Mathematics for Human Flourishing
Francis E. Su, PhD
(All Ages)

3:10-3:40 PM (EDT) / 12:10-12:40 PM (PDT)

30 minute Break (Meet Exhibitors/Teacher Chats)

3:40-4:40 PM (EDT) / 12:40-1:40 PM (PDT)

Keynote: Building Our Children’s Resilience, Wellbeing, and Prosociality Through Positive Connections - Barbara L. Fredrickson, PhD

4:40-4:45 PM (EDT) / 1:40-1:45 PM (PDT)

5 minute Break

Concurrent Sessions C

4:45-6:20 PM (EDT) / 1:45-3:20 PM (PDT)

Concurrent Sessions C

1) Purposeful Classrooms

Room: TBA

4:45-6:20 PM (EDT) / 1:45-3:20 PM (PDT)
Purposeful, Meaningful Classrooms: Establishing Purpose for Yourself and Your Students
Douglas B. Fisher, PhD
(K-College)

2) Thriving Brains

Room: TBA

4:45-5:30 PM (EDT) / 1:45-2:30 PM (PDT)
Part I –  Training the Brain to Thrive: A Scientific Framework for Promoting Resilience and Flourishing in Times of Uncertainty
Cortland Dahl, PhD
(All Ages)

5:35-6:20 PM (EDT) / 2:35-3:20 PM (PDT)
Part II –  Thriving in Today’s Age of Anxiety and An Education Mental Health Crisis: Teaching Collective Efficacy to Cultivate Resilience, Mindfulness, and Self-Stories
Kristen Lee, EdD, LICSW
(All Ages)

3) Curious Brains & Learning

Room: TBA

4:45-6:20 PM (EDT) / 1:45-3:20 PM (PDT)
Building Curious Schools for Better Student Learning
Bryan Goodwin, MA
(K-College)

4) Social Connections & Belonging

Room: TBA

4:45-5:15 PM (EDT) / 1:45-1:15 PM (PDT)
Part I –  The Psychology of Belonging: Boosting a Sense of Belonging in School
Kelly-Ann Allen, PhD, FAPS
(All Grades)

5:20-6:20 PM (EDT) / 1:20-2:20 PM (PDT)
Part II –  Connecting MBE and DEI: Using High Expectations to Boost Student's Sense of Belonging
Glenn Whitman, MALS and CTTL Team
(All Grades)

5) Self-Stories & Thriving

Room: TBA

4:45-6:20 PM (EDT) / 1:45-3:20 PM (PDT)
A Neurological Approach to Thriving: Building Student Strengths and Self-Stories in Schools
Paula Prentis, LMSW
(All Grades)

6) Reading & Thriving

Room: TBA

4:45-6:20 PM (EDT) / 1:45-3:20 PM (PDT)
From Striving to Thriving: Creating Curious, Capable, and Confident Readers
Annie Ward, MEd
(K-8)

CONCURRENT SESSIONS GUIDE

  • (RP)=Brain Research & Practical Strategies/Interventions
  • (R)=Mostly Brain/Child Development Research
  • (P)=Mostly Brain-Based Practical Strategies and Interventions
  • (PREK=16)=Applicable Grade Levels

This schedule is preliminary and subject to change.

Conference Day 2

Sunday, April 18
Location: Virtual Conference

Concurrent Keynotes: The Science of Practice and Thriving

9:30-10:30 AM (EDT) / 6:30-7:30 AM (PDT)

Concurrent Keynotes: The Science of Practice and Thriving

1) Keynote Option 1

Room: TBA

9:30-10:30 AM (EDT) / 6:30-7:30 AM (PDT)
The New Science of Thriving: Prioritizing Possibilities to Help Children Flourish in a Post-COVID World
Christina D. Bethell, PhD

2) Keynote Option 2

Room: TBA

9:30-10:30 AM (EDT) / 6:30-7:30 AM (PDT)
From Leadership to Buildership: Build Better Schools While Thriving in Your True Purpose
Robyn R. Jackson, PhD

10:30-10:45 AM (EDT) / 7:30-7:45 AM (PDT)

15 minute Virtual Coffee Break/Meet-Ups

Concurrent Sessions D

10:45-11:45 AM (EDT) / 7:45-8:45 AM (PDT)

Concurrent Sessions D

1) Purposeful Schools

Room: TBA

10:45-11:45 AM (EDT) / 7:45-8:45 AM (PDT)
The Human Side of Education: Authentic Leadership in Turbulent Times
Julie M. (Wilson) Jungalwala, MEd
(K-12)

2) Thriving Educators

Room: TBA

10:45-11:45 AM (EDT) / 7:45-8:45 AM (PDT)
The Thriving Educator: Empowering Wellbeing Through Purpose, Perspective, and Perseverance
Chase Mielke, MA
(K-12)

3) Curious Brains

Room: TBA

4) Social Connections & Relationships

Room: TBA

10:45-11:45 AM (EDT) / 7:45-8:45 AM (PDT)
Rebuilding Relationships and Conflict Recovery After COVID-19
Candice D. Barnes, EdD
(K-12, College)

5) Self-Stories & Agency

Room: TBA

10:45-11:45 AM (EDT) / 7:45-8:45 AM (PDT)
The Power of Student Agency: Developing Purpose, Grit, and Positive Change
Anindya Kundu, PhD
(All Ages)

6) Neurodiversity, Connections, & Belonging

Room: TBA

10:45-11:45 AM (EDT) / 7:45-8:45 AM (PDT)
Neurodiversity in Schools: Creating a Culture of Belonging
Lauren Hough Williams, MSEd; Maxwell Schneider, MA, MHC-LP
(All Ages)

11:45 AM-12:15 PM (EDT) / 8:45-9:15 AM (PDT)

30 minute Break (Meet Exhibitors/Teacher Chats)

12:15-1:15 PM (EDT) / 9:15-10:15 AM (PDT)

1:15-1:25 PM (EDT) / 10:15-10:25 AM (PDT)

10 minute Break

Concurrent Sessions E

1:25-3:00 PM (EDT) / 10:25 AM-12:00 PM (PDT)

Concurrent Sessions E

1) Purposeful Classrooms

Room: TBA

1:25-3:00 PM (EDT) / 10:25 AM-12:00 PM (PDT)
Promoting Purposeful Learning in Teens and Schools
Patrick Cook-Deegan, BA
(PreK-5)

2) Thriving Educators

Room: TBA

1:25-3:00 PM (EDT) / 10:25 AM-12:00 PM (PDT)
Taking Time for You: Self-Care for Educators
Tina H. Boogren, PhD
(K-12)

3) Curious Young Brains

Room: TBA

1:25-2:10 PM (EDT) / 10:25-11:10AM (PDT)
Part I –  Thriving and Curiosity: Ensuring Young Children's Wellbeing, Achievement, and Curiosity
Prachi E. Shah, MD
(PreK-4)

2:15-3:00 PM (EDT) / 11:15 AM-12:00PM (PDT)
Part II –  Curiosity in the Classroom: Promoting Curiosity, Exploration, and Scientific Thinking
Jamie J. Jirout, PhD
(PreK-4)

4) Social Connections & Schools

Room: TBA

1:25-3:00 PM (EDT) / 10:25 AM-12:00 PM (PDT)
Flexing Muscles: Re-Awakening Atrophied Social Connections and Skills Needed for Post-Pandemic Learning
Karen S. Norris, PhD; Rhonda Vincent, PhD
(9-College)

CONCURRENT SESSIONS GUIDE

  • (RP)=Brain Research & Practical Strategies/Interventions
  • (R)=Mostly Brain/Child Development Research
  • (P)=Mostly Brain-Based Practical Strategies and Interventions
  • (PREK=16)=Applicable Grade Levels

This schedule is preliminary and subject to change.