Conference Schedule

Pre-Conference Workshops

Friday, February 19
Location: Virtual Conference

Pre-Conference Workshops

5:30-8:30 PM ET / 2:30-5:30 PM PT

Pre-Conference Workshops

1)

Room: TBA

5:30-8:30 PM ET / 2:30-5:30 PM PT
Meaningful Learning: Designing Meaningful, Student-Driven Learning Experiences in School, at Home, and Online
Andi McNair, BS

2)

Room: TBA

5:30-8:30 PM ET / 2:30-5:30 PM PT
Powerful Teaching: Unleashing the Science of Learning in Class and Online
Patrice M. Bain, EdS

3)

Room: TBA

5:30-8:30 PM ET / 2:30-5:30 PM PT
Comprehension: A New Model of Reading Instruction to Foster Motivation and Engagement (K-12)
Douglas B. Fisher, PhD

CONCURRENT SESSIONS GUIDE

  • (RP)=Brain Research & Practical Strategies/Interventions
  • (R)=Mostly Brain/Child Development Research
  • (P)=Mostly Brain-Based Practical Strategies and Interventions
  • (PREK=16)=Applicable Grade Levels

This schedule is preliminary and subject to change.

Main Conference Day

Saturday, February 20
Location: Virtual Conference

9:00-10:00 AM (EST - Eastern US timezone) / 6:00-7:00 AM (PST - Pacific US timezone)

10:00-10:10 AM (EST) / 7:00-7:10 AM (PST)

10 Minute Virtual Coffee Break/Meet Ups

10:10-11:10 AM (EST) / 7:10-8:10 AM (PST)

Keynote: How Learning Happens in the Classroom and Online - Paul A. Kirschner, PhD

11:10-11:20 AM (EST) / 8:10-8:20 AM (PST)

10 Minute Virtual Coffee Break/Meet Ups

Concurrent Sessions A: The Science of Teaching & Learning

11:20 AM-12:20 PM (EST) / 8:20-9:20 AM (PST)

Concurrent Sessions A: The Science of Teaching & Learning

1) The Science of Teaching

Room: TBA

11:20 AM-12:20 PM (EST) / 8:20-9:20 AM (PST)
Teaching in a Pandemic: How Research, Education, and Neuroscience Can Show Us the Way
Carol Ann Tomlinson, EdD
(All Grades)

2) Motivated Brains

Room: TBA

11:20 AM-12:20 PM (EST) / 8:20-9:20 AM (PST)
The Science of Autonomy: Supporting Student Motivation and Wellbeing by Focusing on Autonomy
Erika A. Patall, PhD
(K-12 & College)

3) Focused Brains

Room: TBA

11:20 AM-12:20 PM (EST) / 8:20-9:20 AM (PST)
Concentration: Helping Students Stay Focused in Times of Distraction
Stefan van der Stigchel, PhD
(All Ages)

4) Active Minds

Room: TBA

11:20 AM-12:20 PM (EST) / 8:20-9:20 AM (PST)
The Science of Active Learning (Online and in School)
Stephen M. Kosslyn, PhD
(6-12, College)

5) Assessing Digital Minds

Room: TBA

11:20 AM-12:20 PM (EST) / 8:20-9:20 AM (PST)
The Future of Technology and Assessment in Schools
Daisy Christodoulou, MA
(K-12)

6) The Science of Teaching Math

Room: TBA

11:20 AM-12:20 PM (EST) / 8:20-9:20 AM (PST)
A Mind for Numbers: How We Should Teach Math

(All Grades)

12:20-12:50 PM (EST) / 9:20-9:50 AM (PST)

30 Minute Break

Concurrent Keynotes 1

12:50-1:50 PM (EST) / 9:50-10:50 AM (PST)

Concurrent Keynotes 1

1) Option One

Room: TBA

12:50-1:50 PM (EST) / 9:50-10:50 AM (PST)
Keynote: Helping Kids Teach Themselves
Daniel T. Willingham, PhD

2) Option Two

Room: TBA

12:50-1:50 PM (EST) / 9:50-10:50 AM (PST)
Keynote: The Neuroscience of Learning: Play, Movement, and Active Learning
Kenneth Wesson, PhD

2:00-3:00 PM (EST) / 11:00 AM-12:00 PM (PST)

Concurrent Sessions B: Challenges of Teaching, Distraction, & Engagement

1) The Science of Effective Teaching

Room: TBA

2:00-3:00 PM (EST) / 11:00 AM-12:00 PM (PST)
The Cognitive Challenges of Effective Teaching
Stephen L. Chew, PhD
(All Grades)

2) Motivated Brains

Room: TBA

2:00-3:00 PM (EST) / 11:00 AM-12:00 PM (PST)
Quit Point During Coronavirus: Insights into Apathy, Engagement, and Motivation in Classrooms and Virtual Environments
Adam Chamberlin, MEd; Svetoslav Matejic, MEd
(All Grades)

3) Focused Brains

Room: TBA

2:00-3:00 PM (EST) / 11:00 AM-12:00 PM (PST)
Teaching Distracted Minds
James M. Lang, PhD
(6-12, College)

4) Active Minds

Room: TBA

2:00-3:00 PM (EST) / 11:00 AM-12:00 PM (PST)
Teaching Math at a Distance
Theresa E. Wills, PhD
(K-12, College)

5) Assessing Minds

Room: TBA

3:00-3:30 PM (EST) / 12:00-12:30 PM (PST)

30 Minute Break

Concurrent Keynotes 2

3:30-4:30 PM (EST) / 12:30-1:30 PM (PST)

Concurrent Keynotes 2

1) Option One

Room: TBA

2) Option Two

Room: TBA

3:30-4:30 PM (EST) / 12:30-1:30 PM (PST)
Keynote: The Distance Learning Playbook: Improving Engagement and Assessment in Any Setting
Douglas B. Fisher, PhD

4:40-6:15 PM (EST) / 1:40-3:15 PM (PST)

Concurrent Sessions C: Active and Online Learning

1) The Science of Teaching Online

Room: TBA

4:40-5:25 PM (EST) / 1:40-2:25 PM (PST)
Part I –  Applying the Science of Learning to Online Instruction
Richard E. Mayer, PhD
(9-12, College)

5:30-6:15 PM (EST) / 2:30-3:15 PM (PST)
Part II –  You're Better Now: Bringing Your Lessons from Online Teaching Back into the Classroom
David B. Daniel, PhD
(9-12, College)

2) Motivated Brains Online

Room: TBA

4:40-6:15 PM (EST) / 1:40-3:15 PM (PST)
Maximize Learning: Engaging ALL Learners at a Distance
John T. Almarode, PhD
(All Grades)

3) Focused Brains

Room: TBA

4:40-6:15 PM (EST) / 1:40-3:15 PM (PST)
Why Attention Matters: How Active Learning Strategies and Synchronized Brain Activity Support Attention and Learning (and Science Education)
Arielle Keller, PhD Candidate; Ido Davidesco, PhD
(All Grades)

4) Playful Minds

Room: TBA

4:40-6:15 PM (EST) / 1:40-3:15 PM (PST)
A New Path to Education Reform: Playful Learning Reduces COVID Slide and Promotes Learning in School and Beyond
Kathy Hirsh-Pasek, PhD; Roberta Michnick Golinkoff, PhD
(PreK-4)

5) Active Minds

Room: TBA

4:40-5:25 PM (EST) / 1:40-2:25 PM (PST)
Part I –  Empowered at a Distance: Building Student Ownership and Self-Direction into Remote and Hybrid Classrooms
John T. Spencer, EdD
(K-12)

5:30-6:15 PM (EST) / 2:30-3:15 PM (PST)
Part II –  Empowering Minds: Promoting Risk-Taking, Collaboration, Active Learning, and the Revolutionary Changes Our Schools Need
Derek L. McCoy, MEd
(K-12)

6) The Science of Reading

Room: TBA

4:40-6:15 PM (EST) / 1:40-3:15 PM (PST)
The Science of Reading: Developing Early Literacy Through Active Learning Experiences
Kenneth Wesson, PhD
(PreK-3)

CONCURRENT SESSIONS GUIDE

  • (RP)=Brain Research & Practical Strategies/Interventions
  • (R)=Mostly Brain/Child Development Research
  • (P)=Mostly Brain-Based Practical Strategies and Interventions
  • (PREK=16)=Applicable Grade Levels

This schedule is preliminary and subject to change.